SQUARES AND PARKS
DAVID OF SASUN SQUARE
1940-1965
The square is located on Tigran
Mets Avenue. It was formerly known as Station Square. Construction began in the
1930s. The square has a rectangular layout.
The first major structure on
the square was the Sasuntsi Davit Cinema, built in 1940 at the corner of the
square and Artsakh Avenue (architect: Anna Ter-Avetikyan; now demolished).
The imposing railway station
building (1956; architect: Edmond Tigranyan), and the statue of David of Sasun (1959;
sculptor: Yervand Kochar, architect: Mikayel Mazmanyan), installed at the
center of the square, hold a distinctive place in the square’s architectural
ensemble. The statue lends the complex a unique artistic character and is one
of Yerevan’s most beloved monuments.
The square is completed by the
Railway Workers’ Club building (1965; architects: Sargis Gurzadyan, Makabe
Manouelyan) and residential buildings constructed of Artik tuff.