SQUARES AND PARKS

Card image cap

DAVID OF SASUN SQUARE


1940-1965


The square is located on Tigran Mets Avenue. It was formerly known as Station Square. Construction began in the 1930s. The square has a rectangular layout.

The first major structure on the square was the Sasuntsi Davit Cinema, built in 1940 at the corner of the square and Artsakh Avenue (architect: Anna Ter-Avetikyan; now demolished).

The imposing railway station building (1956; architect: Edmond Tigranyan), and the statue of David of Sasun (1959; sculptor: Yervand Kochar, architect: Mikayel Mazmanyan), installed at the center of the square, hold a distinctive place in the square’s architectural ensemble. The statue lends the complex a unique artistic character and is one of Yerevan’s most beloved monuments.

The square is completed by the Railway Workers’ Club building (1965; architects: Sargis Gurzadyan, Makabe Manouelyan) and residential buildings constructed of Artik tuff.


Sasuntsi David Sq.